Friday Night Lights Book Review

Read about my thoughts on Friday Nigh Lights the book.

Friday Night Lights takes place in 1998 when H.G. Bissinger a journalist decided to follow a football team in Texas. He finally chose Permian High which has a population of over 90,000 people. H.G. Bissinger soon finds out that football for the Panthers wasn’t ordinary. Football was life for the players, and reasonably so, they had won the past five state championships in a row. In my mind Friday Nigh Lights focuses on three major keys. It shows the dreams of the players, they pressure the athletes had with the community and their family, and also the commitment from the school.

In Friday Night Lights, it shows how football was everything, even to teachers, and everyone who was affiliated with the school. You realize how upsest everyone is, when $20,000 goes to the football team to fly to their games. You must realize that this isn’t the richest town, and that a lot of this money could go to school teachers, and supplies.

In the book, you notice how some dreams had been crushed, the player that shows it the most it Booby Miles, a running back who was set to have an outstanding year until he was forced out with a leg injury. You get to see how Booby deals with his whole life including his fights with racism.

I have seen the book, and also the movie. I honestly liked the movie a little better. While reading the book, you’ll realize that in many chapters nothing happens, and it gets to be slow reading. As a matter of fact, one chapter just describes the town and barely even mentions football. Despite some slow parts, the book was still great, and the author really does do a great job describing how important football was.

Overall this book was very good, and one of my favorite sports books. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes football, especially if you play football. This book lets the normal person realize how sports can lift you up, and how it can crush you. Also, if you’re a parent that’s reading it, you may come to realize that you might be putting on to much pressure on your son or daughter. That’s because the parents of many players dwindle their children and force pressure on them.

34
Liked it
Liked this? Share it!
Tweet this! StumbleUpon Reddit Digg This! Bookmark on Delicious Share on Facebook
29 Comments
  1. Gary Gaines
    Posted February 28, 2007 at 8:49 pm

    nice, but it was 1988 not 1998. good review though.

  2. Devon Field
    Posted September 20, 2007 at 11:32 am

    The book was way better. The slow parts about the town was a sociological setting of what life was like in odessa; what there was to do outside of football, which was not too much. The movie was good too though, the scenes on the field really helped anhance the ‘war’ feel that Bissinger was talking about.

  3. yo momma
    Posted September 26, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    im cool and halo 3 is horrible

  4. Colleen Steele
    Posted October 2, 2007 at 11:55 am

    I like the review and although I can see the point of adding details about the town, I thought they were boring. I like reading about the football games much more.

  5. j.t.
    Posted November 25, 2007 at 11:41 pm

    It was a very good book.It showed how much the high school football games accually meant to the people in Odessa.The chapers about the town itself weren’t particularly my favorite but I can see how it was important to the story.It was a pretty damn good book.

  6. Flaver Flave.
    Posted January 10, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    YEAHH BOYYYY!

  7. BIG PIMPIN SON
    Posted January 23, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    Im so done i have a book report due on this book tomorrow and I haven’t read the book yet and i cant find a good book summary

  8. Wes
    Posted April 24, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    The slow parts are so much more important that what you realize. If you pay close attention you will understand that Bissenger wasn’t just writing a sports story but more of a novel on our modern corrupt society. The rhetoric behind this story is amazing.

  9. football
    Posted May 14, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!

  10. Matt
    Posted May 15, 2008 at 8:42 am

    this book sucked, it’s not about football. it’s about a boring town.

  11. Zombie Kid
    Posted July 10, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    I LIKE TOE-TUTLES!!!! and this book looks cool… movie was good…

  12. turtle lol ha ha
    Posted September 19, 2008 at 8:08 am

    good i guess

  13. Allison
    Posted November 2, 2008 at 10:57 am

    Im screwed too cos no one seems to know what the plot of this book is!!!

  14. Layla
    Posted November 13, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    This sounds really good. I’m goign to see the movie tomorrow at a friend’s house, and I’m really excited . . . huge Garrett Hedlund fan. Anyways, sounds good.

  15. bhope
    Posted February 25, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    love the movie, starting the book atm :)

  16. bhope
    Posted February 25, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    love the movie, starting the book atm :)

  17. ...
    Posted February 26, 2009 at 11:25 am

    oh no doubt

  18. Anonymous
    Posted March 9, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Boobie Miles had a knee injury, not a leg injury..

  19. andy
    Posted March 13, 2009 at 8:15 am

    people need to put this book on sparknotes to help kids who cant read!!!!!!!!!

  20. Alisha
    Posted April 6, 2009 at 10:06 am

    This book sucks. Majorlyyyyyy

  21. Josh
    Posted May 2, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    If you cant read I don’t think Sparknotes is going to help you.

  22. Andrew
    Posted May 4, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    This book was good and i like the review… I do think the chapters about the town are important even though they are boring. I personal liked the movie better on the fact that i hate to read but needed to read the book so i did. All around good book/movie.

  23. hayden
    Posted May 12, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    someone put this book on sparknotes pleaseee

  24. Jeramey
    Posted June 2, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Overall through the 4 1/2 chp. i read (because there is no sumary anywhere about this book) it sucks and i am going to fail my last querter because of it because it did not catch my attantion enough to read it.

  25. jesus
    Posted June 9, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    is the movie a remake of the book? like its the same story?

  26. mark
    Posted January 19, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    this is a grat help to me because i have a book review on friday night lights tomorrow and i need a review. so this will help alot. thanks alot and great review :)

  27. Posted April 6, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    What is your favorite part of the book?

  28. Posted April 6, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    BOBBA

  29. Posted May 9, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Very good site.. thanks webmasters…

    sesli sohbet
    sesli sohbet
    sesli sohbet
    sesli sohbet
    sesli sohbet

Leave a Reply
comments powered by Disqus